

City of Milwaukee

200 E. Wells Street Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53202

Department Details

Department name: FIRE AND POLICE COMMISSION

Type: Fire and Police Commission

Meeting time:

Meeting location: City Hall, Room 301-B

Primary contact: Bridgett Hughes

Description:

PURPOSE: Functions as the Police and Fire Department oversight board through policy review, rule-making and inspection. Appoints the chiefs of the both the Police and Fire Departments. Performs personnel functions for the Police and Fire Departments. Oversees entry-level recruitment, entry and promotional examinations, and approves all appointments; administers the citizen complaint process, and is final arbiter on all appealed discipline. Conducts planning and research on public safety issues.

COMPOSITION: Nine citizen members, not more than three of whom may belong to the same political party. The Mayor, subject to Common Council confirmation, appoints commissioners to five year terms. Terms run from the second Monday in July. Under section 314-2-a of the Milwaukee Code of Ordinances, all appointees are subject to a background investigation prior to their confirmations.

A member continues to serve after the completion of his or her term until reappointed or until a successor has been appointed.

Due to the nature of the business conducted by this body, members are required to file a Statement of Economic Interests with the Board of Ethics.

CREATING AUTHORITY: Section 62.50, Wis. Stats., Chapter 314 of the Milwaukee Code of Ordinances

SALARY: \$253.85 biweekly

STAFFING: Board of Fire and Police Commissioners, 286-5000; Mr. Leon Todd,

Executive Director

WEBSITE: BOARD OF FIRE AND POLICE COMMISSIONERS

LAST UPDATED: February 20, 2024

Name	Title	Start Date	End Date
Bree Spencer Appointed By: Mayor Cavalier	Member Johnson	7/13/2021	7/13/2026 *
Christopher Snyder Appointed By: Mayor Cavallet	Member Johnson	2/12/2024	7/10/2028 *

Dana World-Pa Appointed By:	ntterson Member Mayor Tom Barrett	7/13/2021	7/13/2026	*
Fred Crouther Appointed By:	Member Mayor Tom Barrett	7/8/2019	7/8/2024	*
Jeff Spence Appointed By:	Member Mayor Cavalier Johnson	2/12/2024	7/10/2028	*
LaNelle Ramey Appointed By:	Member Mayor Tom Barrett	7/13/2021	7/13/2026	*
Miriam Horwitz Appointed By:	Member Mayor Cavalier Johnson	7/12/2022	7/12/2027	*
Ramon Evans Appointed By:	Member Mayor Cavalier Johnson	2/12/2024	7/10/2028	*
Ruben Burgos Appointed By:	Member Mayor Cavalier Johnson	7/12/2022	7/12/2027	*

^{*} indicates extended term